Year Book 2017

President: Steve Bullen;

Speakers: Robin Walker (Cycle Evesham Vale), Eddie Fletcher (Wattbike), Jamie Mitchell (Boardman), Rob Gullen (MacRides), Marcus & Kirsty Mumford (Tandem around the world), Mike Broadwidth (TT Champion), Simon Castle (Metropolitan Police), Joanne Simpson (Tom Simpson’s daughter), Mike Grisenthwaite (Cyclists Fighting Cancer).

Golden Books: Glenn Longland Longland signing

President’s Weekend in Evesham












The Committee would like to take the opportunity to thank all members for their continued support during the year.

Our speakers were as follows:

January                      AGM – no speaker

February                    Robin Walker – Cycle Evesham vale

March                         Eddie Fletcher – Wattbike

April                            Jamie Mitchell – Boardman

May                             Rob Gullen – MacRide Cycle Events

June                            Marcus & Kirsty Mumford – Tandem around the world

July                             Mike Broadwith – British 24 hr TT Champion

August                                    Simon Castle – Metropolitan Police

September                 Joanne Simpson

October                     Mike Grisenthwaite – Cyclists Fighting Cancer

November                  Tony Doyle MBE, Peter King CBE, Roger Hammond, Andy Hawes and Carlton Kirby, together with special guests Mat Watson and Germain Burton.

December                  Christmas Lunch and Auction – no speaker

A very big thank you to all our speakers for giving us their time and passing on their interesting and informative views on many subjects and thank you to all the members who responded to the guests.

Glenn Longland signed the Pedal Club Golden Book at The Pedal Club Lunch in March and Joanne Simpson signed it on behalf of her father when she attended the lunch as the speaker and guest of the Club in September.

The club enjoyed a club ride at the Cyclopark on 23rd February in gale force winds.

Membership currently stands at 11 Life members, 59 Full members, 30 Country members and 27 Social members

During the year Cecil Hambelton became a full member, Chris Kelly, James Spackman and James Leach became social members and Andy Storey, Graham Temple and Andy Cook became country members. Barry Clarke resigned from the club.

It is with much sadness that we have to report the following deaths of members during the year, viz. Brian Stout and Peter Ryalls.

The Committee wish all the members the compliments of the season and good wishes for 2018.

The Pedal Club Committee December 2017

Share this page